The New England College of Optometry was founded in 1894 as the Klein School of Optics, and is the oldest continuously operating school of optometry in the United States. During the 20th century, as optometry evolved as an independent health care profession, it expanded its curriculum and clinical programs to reflect the changing demands of the public. The name changed in 1901 to the Massachusetts School of Optometry, in 1950 to the Massachusetts College of Optometry, and in 1976 to the New England College of Optometry. For more information on the College’s history, click here
The New England College of Optometry Archives contain numerous collections that are unique to the institution – all vital records of the history of the school, as well as of the optometric profession and life in general in the late-19th and 20th centuries in New England. Digitized collections include The Scope (a student-run magazine), College catalogs, commencement and awards ceremony programs, and alumni publications. For more information on the College’s archival collections, click here.